ILYA Association Awards


The ILYA has several prestigious awards that are presented annually to recognize outstanding accomplishments by our sailors, member yacht clubs and race officers. ILYA Class trophies and past winner information can be found in the Class Links area of each Class page. 

Edmund Pillsbury Memorial Cup


In August 1952, Mr. and Mrs. John S. Pillsbury and family in memory of Edmund Pillsbury presented to the Inland Lake Yachting Association a trophy to be known as The Edmund Pillsbury Memorial Cup to be awarded annually to the skipper of the yacht, irrespective of class, who makes the outstanding record in the annual Inland Lake Yachting Association Regatta.


With the permission of the Pillsbury family it was decided in 1965 to award this trophy in the future to the outstanding skipper at the annual regatta, selection to be made by an anonymous committee of Directors appointed by the Commodore.


Pillsbury Memorial Cup Honorees


Huse ILYA Sportsmanship Trophy


Established in 2019 by friends and family of Jerry Huse, the Huse Inland Lake Yachting Association Sportsmanship Award shall be presented annually to the person who best exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship in competitive sailboat racing within the Inland Lake Yachting Association.


The individual recognized with the Huse Sportsmanship Award will be a person who has pursued or supported the sport of competitive sailboat racing together with the highest regard for others including competitors and the race committee. Respectful adherence to the racing rules, and their spirit, will be an important consideration along with exhibiting compassion for all.


The recipient may be an ILYA sailor (skipper or crew), and is not restricted solely to sportsmanship displayed at ILYA Championship events and other ILYA regattas.


Nominations may be made by ILYA members or member clubs, and all are encouraged to do so. Nominees need not have sailed any ILYA regattas in that year. It is expected that the award recipient is a member of the ILYA at the time of the award.


Selection is made by a committee appointed by the ILYA Commodore and may include ad-hoc members of the Huse family or Okoboji Yacht Club.


ILYA Huse Sportsmanship Trophy Honorees

John Hunt Memorial Trophy - ILYA Member of the Year


The Member of the Year Trophy was created by the ILYA in 1992, and may be awarded annually to an ILYA individual or individuals for outstanding contribution to, or on behalf of the members of the Inland Lake Yachting Association.


John W. Hunt - Member of the Year Winners

ILYA Yacht Club of the Year


The Commodore Morgan Club of the Year Trophy was donated in 1989 by Commodore Lou Morgan. The trophy may be awarded annually, and recognizes outstanding achievement or contribution by a club on behalf of its own membership, or the members of the Inland Lake Yachting Association.


Commodore Lou Morgan Yacht Club of the Year Winners

Ed Malone Judges Trophy


The Ed Malone Trophy was donated on June 21, 1986, on the occasion of the retirement dinner honoring longtime judge and measurer Ed Malone of the Oshkosh Yacht Club. The Trophy was donated by ILYA members in attendance at that dinner and other ILYA members. The trophy, deeded to the ILYA, was awarded to the Chief Judge at the ILYA Annual Regatta.

In 2001, the deed of gift was changed, and henceforth, the Malone Trophy would be awarded to a Judge or Race Officer in appreciation for service to the ILYA sailors. Selection of the Malone Trophy recipient would be made by the ILYA Executive Committee after consultation with the Chair of the Judges Committee and the Chair of the Race Management Committee.


Ed Malone Judge or Race Officer of the Year Winners